Boudoir not BEEEEWWWdoir!

boudoirOkay with the Sports Bra Extraveganza yesterday and with today being focused on boudoir, you are probably thinking that I am a total skeeze bag.  Not so!  I’m perfectly respectable!  I’m a teacher!  I’m a registered voter!  I love kittens!  But I also appreciate beautiful photography, and that is what today is about. 

As our engagement has progressed, I have started thinking more and more about unique things to do.  I stumbled upon several discussion posts and bloggings on a little something called “boudoir photography”.  (COMPLETE SIDE NOTE:  I am not French, so I will NOT pronounce this word as BOO-DWAH.  I will say BOO-DWAR as any respectable and stubborn American would.  I see this as a matter of principle as I also pronounce “armoire” as ARM-WAR and not ARM-WAH.  If you don’t agree then get out of my blog!  Kidding stay!  I only have 2.5 readers!!!)

At first when I heard about demur brides baring all for a photography shoot, I was shocked and my cheeks flushed.  But then I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  My FI would be totally shocked and awed if I  managed to pull this off.  It would be a totally unique gift that no one but him would ever know about.  And if I managed to lose the rest of the weight that I want, then it would capture my image when I’m in the best shape of my life.  Aaand there might be a little narcisism in that, but eh…

So I started doing some research.  There are a lot of awful, gross boudoir images out there.  Tacky, ill lit, skeezy boudoir.  Those make me cringe.  A local photographer who shall remain nameless has his boudoir photography out in the open for all to see on his website, and the women featured just look like sad, drunk, prostitutes.  I’m not sure if this is allowed, but here is one of the images from said photographer that will make you cringe too:

boudoir-2

Seriously, there are SO many things wrong with this picture that I am not even going to call it “boudoir”.  It is BEEEEEEEEEEWDOIR.  This girl not only is standing awkwardly, but she looks totally uncomfortable.  The lighting is AWFUL, the set is AWFUL, the hair is AWFUL, the make-up is AWFUL, the lingerie is AWFUL (who is this girl, anyhoo?  some kind of boudoir superhero?).  Either way, this picture is so terrible.  If I paid good money for this, I’d be MORTIFIED!

Here is an example of a boudoir shot that is what I’m going for:

boudoir-3-pelaezphotos

This photo is from photographer, pelaezphotos, and it’s beautiful!  Good lighting, good pose, good lingerie, good setting, good hair, good make-up, good photography.  Tasteful, not tacky.

boudoir-4-chrisbirchall

This picture from Chris Birchall is also lovely!  And yes, I am totally considering doing some tasteful full nudes like this.  Think suggestive NOT spread eagle!

I also read somewhere that looking at covers of magazines like Maxim will give you good inspiration, so here are a couple Maxim shots that I think would make great settings/poses/lingerie/etc. for my boudoir shot:

maxim-2maxim-1

There are a ton more, but my computer is being a bitch and is not letting me upload them.  Anyhoo, I think we can all see the difference between good boudoir and BEEEEEEWWWWdoir.  I am tentatively planning to do a photoshoot in early summer next year.  I may chicken out before then, but if not, I think this is going to be an amazing gift that both my fiance and myself will enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under the finds

Leave a Reply

